San Luis Obispo County tenants are protected from evictions related to Coronavirus/COVID-19 income disruptions.  Through at least May 31, 2020, San Luis Obispo County landlords cannot evict a tenant for non-payment of rent due to financial disruption related to Coronavirus/COVID-19.

To qualify for eviction protections, San Luis Obispo County tenants must:

  1. Demonstrate that the Coronavirus/COVID-19 has impacted them;
  2. Provide to the landlord written notice of inability to pay rent due to the Coronavirus/COVID-19 impact, with supporting documentation.

Under the San Luis Obispo Coronavirus/COVID-19 eviction moratorium, impacts include:

  1. Contracting Coronavirus/COVID-19;
  2. Caring for a household or family member who has contracted Coronavirus/COVID-19;
  3. Suffering layoff, loss of hours, substantial decrease in income, or another Coronavirus/COVID-19 related income disruption;
  4. Complying with a government or health authority order to stay home, self-quarantine, or other similar order;
  5. Extraordinary out-of-pocket medical expenses; or,
  6. Child care needs arising from school closure due to Coronavirus/COVID-19.

Supporting documentation likely includes, paystubs, time cards, proof of out-of-pocket medical expenses related to Coronavirus/COVID-19, proof of medical care or quarantine, employer or school notes, or doctors citing the Coronavirus/COVID-19.

Although San Luis Obispo County tenants must eventually pay the unpaid rent, landlords may not charge a late fee for rent delayed under the San Luis Obispo County Coronavirus/COVID-19 eviction moratorium.

The San Luis Obispo County Coronavirus/COVID-19 eviction moratorium also directs all public housing authorities to extend deadlines for housing assistance recipients or applicants to provide eligibility records.

Please note that the San Luis Obispo County Coronavirus/COVID-19 eviction moratorium applies to residents in unincorporated San Luis Obispo County, and not the City of San Luis Obispo.

San Luis Obispo County joins numerous other California cities that have, or will soon pass, Coronavirus/COVID-19 eviction moratoriums, including San FranciscoOaklandBerkeleySan JoseSanta MonicaCulver CityStocktonSacramentoSan DiegoAlamedaBurbankPasadenaVallejoInglewoodGlendaleEl MonteSouth PasadenaRichmondEmeryvilleOjaiPalo AltoClearlakePalm Springs, Goleta, Santa Ana, and Los Angeles.

Click here to read the unabridged San Luis Obispo County Coronavirus/COVID-19 Eviction Moratorium.

If you are a San Luis Obispo County tenant with questions about your rights under the San Luis Obispo County Coronavirus/COVID-19 eviction moratorium or have questions about California Rent Control (AB 1482), contact Astanehe Law to speak with a tenant attorney.